I created my Facebook account a little over four years ago. I was a junior in high school at the time and was basically forced into creating an account by my friends who had all created their pages several months before I did. Eventually, I gave in and agreed to get a Facebook of my own. Four years later, as a junior in college, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking as to whether or not I should keep my Facebook account or not. There’s been numerous times that I’ve felt on the verge on deleting my account, as its primary purpose seems to be a way to procrastinate from starting my school work.

After giving it a lot of thought, I’ve come to the conclusion that there’s no way I can delete my Facebook. Being a college student, especially, it has become essential to have a Facebook. I’ve realized that Facebook is honestly what keeps me in the loop about the goings on around campus, with my family, and various other things. My account is not only a way to connect with people, but it honestly keeps me informed. I can’t begin to list how many things (events, news stories, etc.) I’ve found out about through Facebook, that I wouldn’t have found out about otherwise. As a busy college student, I rarely have a moment to turn on the morning news or read a newspaper. I find out about a lot of things through what I see on Facebook, and I know that a lot of my friends and college peers echo the same report.

Facebook also allows me to multitask. I have three sisters that I rarely get a chance to pick up the phone and catch up with. I can have a quick 2 minute conversation with them on FB chat that allows us to get each other up to speed on what’s going on in our lives, while simultaneously doing my work for class the next day. As I begin exam week, I have a custom of deactivating my FB account for the duration of exams. A brief break from Facebook is always nice, but I’ve come to the realization that its an essential part of the way I stay in the loop, and I sometimes wonder if I’ll ever be able to totally delete my account.

